They say you learn something new every day.

I’ve finished phase 1 of the software I had to build yesterday.

It’s a little tricky as it involves a client I’ve built that sits on the local machine, sending data to a remote website, then a script picking up that data, and loading it into a database behind our firewall that isn’t available through the internet.

I guess it would be possible to VPN the data directly into that database, but that seems a bit of overkill.

All in all, at the moment, it’s only about 100 lines of code. And I’m happy with the simplicity and neatness of it.

I’m pretty sure that there will be some fixes I need to make to it when we start testing, but I’ve built that into my plan – in a way that I never used to do. I used to be very optimistic (“It probably works, any problems will be small”) whereas now I’m being quite pessimistic (“There are probably problems, must have time to capture them”).

In fact, my hope is that with it’s simplicity therewon’tbe many problems, but I’m planning for them anyway. What’s that they say? “Hope for the best but plan for the worst”.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

