They say you learn something new every day.

I realised today I’ve started hoarding rubbish.

And this was after I explicitly set myself the task of trying to cut down on the amount of “stuff” I have. Whether it’s natural hunter-gatherer tendency or what, I don’t know, but I just seem to collect bits of paper and little things that I feel I “need” to keep. My chest of drawers had nothing on it a week ago, and now it looks like this:

And I can’t really throw any of it away. Except perhaps for the hideous candle in the shape of a Japanese woman.

However, the thing that made me sit up was when I realised I was keeping a bit of packaging because I thought the design was interesting. Now, I have nothing wrong with that, but I need to put that in a folder of “interesting things” if that’s what I want to do.

Keeping a pile of packaging in a pile is not something I want to start doing.

I was just surprised at how easily this crept up on me, as I tend to think of my life right now as pretty minimalist. The lesson here really is to know why you keep things and have a place for them. And if you don’t find a place straight away, put them somewhere and review that place regularly.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

