They say you learn something new every day.

Do you know, after all this time, it was only today that I discovered what the Scroll Lock key does. There’s been a couple of times in Excel when I’ve found that the arrow keys are scrolling the window rather than moving cell, and I’ve assumed that there was a setting on, but it was only today that I thought it might be scroll lock.

So scroll lock sets the arrow keys to scroll the active window. Simple, eh? But I’ve never realised that before. And, asking around the office, no one else had either.

Of course the question now is whether I can actually use this knowledge in anyway way. I suspect it’s not that useful, but at least I’ll know to turn it off when Excel starts behaving weirdly.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

