They say you learn something new every day.

I ripped a CD the other day (the first time I’ve ripped a CD for ages. Rather embarrassingly, I couldn’t find the “Rip CD” button in Windows Media Player for ages. The sooner physical media dies the better as far as I’m concerned.)

However, listening back to it, I noticed the track volumes were all over the place. This wasn’t a fault of Media Player – they were like that on the original CD as well.

My first job was basically normalising audio tracks (there may have been a little more to it than that, but only just), so I thought to myself, I’ll just normalise them. But then I found MP3Gain:

MP3 Gain

It’s a nifty little algorithm that finds the average highest value, rather than just one freak loud noise, and normalises all the tracks in a folder to that same level.

It’s very easy to use, and lossless too. Which is great. What’s also nice about it is that it comes with a command line version (we all know how much I like command line software). Although I’ll be damned if I can find a list of the command line switches anywhere.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

