They say you learn something new every day.

Yesterday I had to bulk resize and rename name a lot of pictures for a website. Around 41 of the fellas. I needed them resized for the thumbnail and the web picture, so I’d have to do it twice.

Now, I know before I’ve said that I like command line software – and I stand by that – but you need some time to figure out the syntax properly. It works well when  you’ve got to automate a task that you’re going to lots of times. But sometimes you want a quick and dirty GUI.

I found fotosizer, a free tool that can bulk resize photos.

It doesn’t meet every requirement I’ll ever have, but it was enough to get the job done quickly and easily. It also helped me work out exactly what I would need in a command line photo resizer. If I start doing a lot of this, then I’ll do some more searching, but at the moment, this does the job.

However, eagle-eyed readers will note that resizing was only part of the problem. I also needed to rename the damned files. Enter Renamer:

Renamer doing its thing

Again, I probably should move to a command line application at some point for full automation, but I have to admit I do love Renamer. The simple interface, and the power behind the commands that allow you to do all sorts of complex things to the file names. This application has saved me so much time over the years.

What’s even better is that both of these applications are portable. You’ll need to use Universal Extractor on FotoResizer, but that’s all of a few seconds work. In fact, I tend to find Universal Extractor is quicker than running through the installer. It’s certainly fewer clicks.

Universal Extractor In Action

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

