They say you learn something new every day.

I’m a little surprised by how this “experiement”, if that’s not too grand a word for what is basically a diary, is turning out.

My intention was for the things learned to be relatively factual – you know, how to tie your shoelace, how to do long division etc. However, other than the occasional blasts of knowledge, most of this so far has been morals or styles of thought. I put this down, really, to the fact that I’m at home for Christmas, and have switched my brain to sleep mode. I’m hoping this will change a little next year.

I think my learned “thing” today is about questioning things. Again, it’s something I’ve known for a long time, but I was again reminded today to always question things. There’s very little more important than a questioning mind – and I let myself slip up once today, and it slightly annoys me. In hindsight, I was thinking of questioning something, and didn’t. And it now annoys me that I didn’t.

My other realization today was that this is, basically, a diary. That’s not something that bothers me, except for the fact that I’ve never been very good at keeping diaries. Hopefully, the “gimmick” behind this one will keep me interested for slightly longer than my previous high score. Which is about two days. The second of which said “wrote in diary”.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

