They say you learn something new every day.

It’s Christmas, and the TV is on. And Only Fools and Horses comes on. And you know what, it’s really good.

I’m reminded of Ricky Gervais’s comments that comedy is all about empathy.

You see some comedians; it’s the rhythm. They could even throw in a fake punch line, they get a laugh. And I think it’s about making people think about it, and why it’s funny. I think comedy is about empathy. I can’t laugh with people I don’t like. I think you should know to be above the audience.

And there’s nothing remotely funny about seeing unfeasibly handsome, brilliant people come out and tell you why they’re brilliant. I want to see parts losing its way, falling over, and getting back up and dusting himself up. And you also got to see that humanity, that sort of struggle in anything, really. As opposed to changing my personality. Now I don’t but, of course, everything you do has got a persona.

Similarly, there’s the comments the creators of Battlestar Galactica made when planning the final episode and suddenly realised:

It’s all about the character

I was reminded of this while watching Channel 4’s Obsessive Compulsive Hoarder. It was actually quite a heart warming story, partly because Richard was someone you actually wanted to talk to, and partly because gardener Andy’s attempts to help were so heart warming.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

